Larrupin

Uncommonly Good

Black Rice and Black Eyed Peas

This year my New Year’s Black Eyed Peas were a little different than in year’s past. Well, the peas and the cornbread were the same, but the rice was different. It was black rice.

I heard about black rice on Dr. Oz sometime last year and after shopping around town I found two packages marked down for clearance at one grocery store. I bought them both.

Black Eyed Peas and Black Rice

I prepare black rice in my rice cooker the same as white or brown rice. It pretty much tastes like the other rices, but it seems like there is more to it. It’s very nutritional and I’m looking for a consistent supplier. I hope I can buy it locally, but if not I’ll spring for shipping and get it online.

I seasoned the black-eyed peas with a hearty ham bone with lots of meat on it. It was leftover from Thanksgiving and I froze it so I would have it for my lucky black-eyed peas (check out the dime). It was a much larger bone than I needed for the small batch of dried peas I had. Instead of cooking it in the peas, I boiled it separately in a large stock pot with the usual seasonings.

When I was ready to cook the peas I used the ham stock instead of water. I seasoned as I usually do and added a good size chunk of ham. I watched the peas and kept the heat low. Black eyed peas cook much faster than other beans and it I usually cook them to mush before I realize it.

I also used ham stock to for the rice instead of water. It really added to the flavor and they were great to go with the black-eyed peas and another pot of beans I cooked up on New Year’s Day.

I used the rest of the ham stock and ham to cook a pot of  cannellini beans. This is a white bean, similar to Great Northern or Navy beans. Cannellini beans—also used in Minestrone, one of my favorite soups—seem to have more flavor and texture than other white beans. I buy them in bulk from The Earth and try to always have a tin or jar of them on hand.

Larrapin!

 

January 4, 2012 - Posted by | Beans | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Black Rice and Black Eyed Peas (larrupin.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Black Eyed Peas – I Got a Feelin (Mysto & Pizzi Remix) « Fatalgroove | January 16, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

