Larrupin

Uncommonly Good

May is Hamburger Month: Cheeseburger in Paradise

After spending the day snorkeling and scuba diving off Key West a Cheeseburger in Paradise at  Margaritaville Café was one of the best burgers I’ve ever had. Just like in the song the description included onion, lettuce, tomato, Kosher dill pickle, and French fries. It was almost 20 years ago, so the menu has likely been revised, but after a busy day on the water it was one tasty burger.

Here’s a recent review of a Key West Cheeseburger in Paradise. Very nice pix are included. I’ll post my own as soon as I build my own burger in a few days.

Here’s a recipe from Food Network that starts with grinding your own hamburger meat. I’ll make mine with 90% lean from the grocery store, but I will be making one of these as soon as I get some ground cow in the fridge. And I promise to post pictures.

BTW, I had another one of these in New Orleans and was not impressed. The burger was OK, but when I placed the order for a Cheeseburger in Paradise “just like in the song” I got twenty questions from the bartender who took my order.

“Do you want tomato and lettuce on that?”

“Uh, yeah.”

“Onion?” 

Again, “Yes.”

I mean, what part of “just like in the song” is so hard to understand?

May 1, 2011 - Posted by | Sandwich | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

