Larrupin

Uncommonly Good

Grilled Cheese Month: Dijon, Muenster, Egg and Avocado

I came across a recipe for the Perfect Fried Egg Sandwich a few days ago which got my mouth a-watering. It was piled high with bacon, but when I got ready to make this I was too impatient to fry the bacon. It wasn’t too shabby the way it turned out.

I wanted to be sure the cheese was melty on both sides and I didn’t think this would be very easy to flip, so I made it open-faced and put it together when it was done. I put it together on my homemade garlic-herb bread.  I used two burners, my iron griddle for the sandwich, and one of my 6 1/2-inch iron skillets for the egg.

1.

Muenster Cheese

Spread butter on one side of the bread, Dijon on the other and place it, butter side down on a medium hot griddle.

2.

Fry and Egg

Meanwhile, heat a small skillet to medium, add butter and immediately add the egg. This is one time you want the yolk to break. Swirl it around a little or a lot.

3.

Add Avocado

While the egg fries, add slices of avocado to the top of the melting cheese.

4.

Add the egg

When most of the egg white is cooked, put the egg on top of the avocado. Leave it flat for a whole sandwich, or use a spatula to roll it burrito-style to fit. Add the bacon here if you have it.

5.

Put the sandwich together

Carefully flip one side of the sandwich on top of the other.

6.

Grilled Fried Egg Sandwich

Grilled Cheese Fried Egg Sandwich

7.

Grilled Cheese Fried Egg Sandwich

Grilled Muenster, Dijon, Fried Egg and Avocado on Garlic-Herb Bread Sandwich

Larrupin!

April 17, 2011 - Posted by | Sandwich | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Grilled Cheese Month: Dijon, Muenster, Egg and Avocado (larrupin.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Garlic Bread | Fish, Chips & Mushy Peas | April 19, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

