Larrupin

Uncommonly Good

Grilled Cheese Month: Jalapeno Poppers

I’ve had a couple of blogs pick up some of my Grilled Cheese Month posts the last couple of days (yay!). When I checked out one of the postings I found another link that took me to  The Emerald Owl and a post for a Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese. I had to try it.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Popper

I grilled it on the Garlic-Herb Bread I made a few days ago. Then there’s butter, cream cheese, bacon, and roasted jalapenos.

I should have roasted more jalapenos. I didn’t think about the shrinkage. And my two-pound loaf of bread means the sandwich is about five inches square. That’s a pretty big sandwich.

I made one for Dillon with the jalapenos and added a layer of avocado. That took all the peppers so I sliced up some cherry tomatoes to go with the avocado on mine. It was pretty darn tasty!

I would like to put a little more heat in it.

I think I’ll roast the jalapenos, leave the seeds in, and chop it up and mix it into the cream cheese a day or two early so the pepper flavors can soak into the cheese.

I like pepper poppers dipped in a sweet tangy raspberry sauce. If I can get the heat up in the sandwich I want to add a layer, or serve with a dip on the side, to include the tartness of raspberries or maybe cranberries.

Larrupin!


April 13, 2011 Posted by | Sandwich | , , , , , , | Leave a comment