Larrupin

Uncommonly Good

Grilled Cheese Month: Muenster Chicken

I know they are fattier, but I really like chicken thighs. And they’re very easy to cook if you buy them already deboned. When you open the package to wash them, take the scissors and cut off all the globs of fat the butcher left on and lay them out on a platter.

I season them with my own herb blend or tarragon or thyme or whatever else smells good. Then I roll them into a spiral and put them in a lidded baking dish. Snuggle them next to each other and cover with white wine. I have a boxed Chardonnay just for baking chicken. I usually sprinkle more herbs on top and maybe add some crushed garlic and a few slices of onions.

The lid goes on and the whole kit and caboodle goes into a preheated 400° oven for about an hour. You can serve them on rice or egg noodles, make chicken salad out of them, or just let them cool off and slice for sandwiches. Today I put them in another grilled cheese sandwich.

Grilled Muenster Chicken

I started by spreading the bread with Dijon Chutney Mustard. It’s 3:1; Major Grey’s Chutney to Dijon mustard. I used Grey Poupon, but there are a lot of choices out there, so use your favorite. And if you like tangy sweet mustardy flavors you may want to fill a little jar and keep it in the fridge so it’s handy to put on all sorts of stuff… like cream cheese and crackers.

If you want the kids to eat it use the jelly part of the chutney and leave the lumps out. Kids will eat almost anything if it’s sweet and it isn’t lumpy.

I added a layer of thin sliced Muenster cheese on each piece of bread. Then I took a chicken thigh and because it was so tender it was easy to smush apart with my fingers and spread out on top of the cheese.

I used a garlic-herb bread with flavors so subtle you don’t even notice them unless you’re eating the bread all by its lonesome. It’s a bit more robust than plain bread, but if I’m craving a garlic and herbs I’ll add a lot more herbs and garlic.

Then it went on my handy-dandy iron griddle and voila! Toasty, tasty.

Dillon’s version was mayo, chicken, and provolone. Stay tuned to see how yummy that was!

Larrupin!

April 10, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Grilled Cheese Month: Muenster Chicken (larrupin.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Grilled bread and Italian food and wines « Calogero Mira, Food and Recipes | April 11, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

