Larrupin

Uncommonly Good

Grilled Cheese Month: Tuna

Today I used tuna for my grilled cheese lunch. Pretty darn tasty!

I started with one over-sized slice of bread and cut it in half.

Bread with Honey Mustard and Mozzarella

 

Next, honey mustard went on both pieces of bread.  This sandwich turned out a bit sweet, so next time I would switch to Dijon or a less sweet variety of honey mustard.

 

 

I put mozzarella on one slice of bread and cheddar on the other slice.

 

 

 

Dill Pickle, Cheddar, Chunk Tuna, and More Cheese.

 

 

A dill pickle went on one side, and I carefully piled well-drained chunk tuna on the other side.

 

 

 

 

I topped the tuna with more grated cheese before putting the sandwich together.

 

 

 

The griddle was about “just right” hot, so it was time to add a puddle of olive oil. Both sides of the sandwich were smeared in oil before I left it to cook for a few minutes.

 

 

 

 

Look at that perfect golden brown toastiness!

 

The chunk tuna made this a little more fragile, so I had a fork handy for the droppings.

 

 

Banana peppers would be a tasty addition but I’m out right now. And it needs something red. A sprinkle of pimento, or roasted red peppers would be just the ticket!

Of course you can make this full-sized for a hearty eater, but I’m trying to behave myself these days.

 

 

Larrupin!

 

April 8, 2011 - Posted by | Tuna | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. […] Grilled Cheese Month: Tuna (larrupin.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Grilled Cheese, Bread, Olive Oil, Butter and a Photo « Calogero Mira, Food and Recipes | April 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

