Larrupin

Uncommonly Good

Brie and Cranberry Sauce

Update: I posted this about a year ago and today came across another tasty way to combine these two flavors. These baked brie bites come from Joy the Baker.

They are hot little treats on a stick… all full of melty cheese.

Joy the Baker suggests Cherry Jam, and she says you can use your personal favorite jelly or jam but my mouth immediately watered for cranberry sauce.

This would be a great way to introduce new flavors to kids or anyone who steers clear of anything different. They won’t see the rind on the brie, and they won’t see the lumpiness of the homemade cranberry sauce. They’ll probably just ask for another one.

Now back to our regularly scheduled programing

– – – – – –

I subscribe to a handful of food and recipe blogs and newsletters so my mailbox usually has a half-dozen or more recipes in it each day. I’ve noticed brie and cranberry sauce in the subject of  more than a few emails the past few weeks.

Cranberry Brie
Mmmmmmmmmm.

Here’s how I put them together.

I sliced a small loaf of  French bread into slices about a half-inch thick. They went into the toaster oven and I turned the oven to about 325° or so just to warm the bread and barely toast it.

I smeared each slice with a thin spread of butter (I happened to have unsalted butter at room temp today) and topped it with a thin—about 1/8″ thick—slice of Brie. Then I slid the baking sheet back into the toaster oven at the same setting for a few minutes. It won’t look melted, but after a few minutes touch the cheese with a knife to see if it’s ready. When it’s soft and smearable it’s time to take it out.

Next I spread cranberry sauce on top of the cheese and slid it back in the oven for another minute or so. Just long enough to take the chill off the cranberry sauce.

Then I ate them. All by myself. I think I’ll go make some more.

Larrupin!

December 29, 2010 - Posted by | Appetizer, Sauce | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] I really like it with different cheeses, especially brie. […]

    Pingback by Jan Makes Cranberry Sauce « Jan Made It | November 21, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

