Larrupin

Uncommonly Good

Leftovers Lasagna, NOT Leftover Lasagna—yet

Lasagna and Breadsticks

Leftovers Lasagna and Cheesy Parmesan Breadsticks

I thought my brother was coming to town over the weekend so I offered to help mom out by fixing lasagna for a family dinner/football watch party on Saturday night. I offered because I had a package of ground beef and two packages of Italian sausage I needed to freeze or use.

I’m still out of a job so my mom wouldn’t have let me cook if I was going to have to buy anything.

I cooked up the meat the same day, bagged it up and put it in the fridge.

Turns out my brother got sick and had to cancel, but fortunately I found out before I’d committed to using the entire three plus pounds of meat. I split the meat into three freezer bags and put it in the freezer.

Game night rolls around so I pulled one bag out of the freezer and made a quick batch of spaghetti for Dillon and I to eat during the game. It was really good! The dinner, and the game! We won!

I have a tendency to make too much pasta for the sauce I’ve prepared so this time I went on the conservative side and ended up with just the right amount for dinner, but then had leftover meat sauce when we finished.

I was still in the mood for lasagna so on Sunday I whipped this up with the leftovers… thus the title.

Following my plan to use only what I had on hand I pulled out an opened tub of cottage cheese for the cheese layer. I added an egg, a scoop of sour cream (just because I like it) and mixed it up. I also had some slices of provolone and Farmers cheese handy.

Lasagna

Leftovers Lasagna: Layered and Read to Bake

Instead of boiling the lasagna noodles, I tried a tip I saw on TV recently. I soaked the noodles in a casserole dish filled with hot water. I used hot water from the tap and let the noodles soak while I mixed the cheese and got everything ready to layer. It worked like a charm.

Since I wasn’t making a full size lasagna, I put this together in a loaf pan. I was able to use scissors to cut the noodles to the right length and size. The noodles were a tiny bit crispy, but if I’d let them soak 5–10 minutes longer, or poured boiling water over them they would have been perfect. At any rate it removed one gigantic step from the process.

So I layered it and put it in the oven and went to work on my cheesy Parmesan breadsticks.

Cheese Parmesan Breadsticks: Before

Cheese Parmesan Breadsticks: Before

I popped open a can of Pillsbury Breadsticks and dried the casserole I used to soak the lasagna.

Pillsbury Original Breadsticks

Pillsbury Original Breadsticks

I swirled a splatter of olive oil in the bottom of the dish. I wanted to use melted butter, but opted for a healthier fat. I separated the breadsticks and coated them with oil. I left them flat and sprinkled my own blend of seasoning over the top and then turned the breadsticks and seasoned the other side. Next I grated Parmesan and Romano cheeses over that. I twisted the sticks as directed added more cheese and then put the dish in the oven next to the lasagna.

About 12 minutes later the breadsticks were golden brown.

Cheesy Parmesan Breadsticks: After

Cheesy Parmesan Breadsticks: After

Mmmmm!

Leftovers Lasagna: After

Leftovers Lasagna: After

Very impatiently, I tried to wait the suggested 5-10 minutes to let the juices set a bit before cutting it, but I still dipped it out pretty juicy. No matter. It tasted great!

Now I have leftover Leftovers Lasagna to warm up for lunch or dinner the few days.

Larrupin.

December 6, 2010 - Posted by | Casserole | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

