Larrupin

Uncommonly Good

BLT Sandwich

BLT Sandwich

BLAT Sandwich: Bacon, Lettuce, Avocado, Tomato wit Mayo on Whole Wheat Toast

I know bacon is loaded with saturated fat, which is the one thing I’m cutting back on this year, but I’m tempted to dive into a pile of tater tots so this was a better choice. I also skipped my usual side of potato chips, so I’m still ahead of the game.

After I was ready for work this morning I started my coffee (to-go) and put the bacon in the skillet, the toast in the toaster oven and started pulling everything else together. I packed the toast and bacon in one container and the avocado, mayo and tomatoes in another.

I cut the avocado in half and left the pit in place. I put that half face down in a container of cottage cheese and put it back in the fridge for later. I smeared the other half with mayonnaise, which I would later put on my sandwich. I also put some grape tomatoes (it was all I had) in that container and sealed it.

BLT Prep

Toast and bacon, with a small paring knife, go in one container. Half an avocado, smeared with mayo, with a handful of grape tomatoes.

I put the sandwich together when I was ready to eat. It hit the spot.

Some suggestions:

Use 100% Whole Wheat Bread. I use real mayonnaise, but only enough to smear on one piece of bread.

Keep the toast on the light side. I let mine get too dark, and as it dried out during the morning it was plenty crunchy.

Don’t put mayo on hot toast. It will melt right in and I don’t know about you, but it that’s not what I want in  BLT.

Let the toast cool if you can before you seal it up. If it’s still warm it will steam a little inside the sealed container and that’s not what you’re after either.

The romaine fit perfectly in the container with the toast and bacon, but it will get limp if you let it get warm. Instead wash it, fold it inside a paper towel and seal it separately.

At work, I put the avocado and tomatoes in the fridge, because of the mayo, but I left the other container on my desk. I’m not a fan of cold bread, and certainly not cold toast.

I also had a hard boiled egg and some tomato juice as an afternoon snack. And I had some almonds and pistachios to snack on as well.

Tomorrow, a tuna sandwich.

April 21, 2010 - Posted by | Brown Bag, Sandwich | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

