Larrupin

Uncommonly Good

Welcome to Brown Bagging

BLT Soup

Right after New Year’s Day, many morning news shows fill spare air time with variations on the theme, New Year’s Resolutions. In January Dr. Oz filled one of those slots on Good Morning America and listed the top ten things you can eat, or change about your eating habits, to be healthier this year. Number one on his list was  “avoid saturated fats.”

My weakness is salty, savory foods rather than sweets, and in particular I love French fries and potato chips. Going out to lunch, usually to a fast food joint, meant I was eating a lot of burgers and fries. My weight was also creeping up and add all that to the unexpected she-should-have-died heart attack my mom had two years ago and I decided it was time for me to make some changes.

Spinach Strawberry Salad

Spinach Strawberry Salad

I decided to start with Dr. Oz’s “avoid saturated fats,” primarily my favorites: French fries, greasy burgers and potato chips. But in order to do that, I needed to change my lunch routine without breaking the bank. The logical thing to do was to make my own lunch. So that’s what I’ve been doing for more than a month.

Every single day.

In one month I’ve saved about $160, and lost one pant size. W00t!

Since I started brown bagging, I’ve had lots of salads, some soups, and a few sandwiches. I’ve had some leftovers: spaghetti, roast chicken and rice, things like that. I’ve also stocked my desk with filling, good-for-me snacks.

Hungarian Mushroom Soup

Hungarian Mushroom Soup

While I’m doing this to eat healthier, I’m also broke. It’s much cheaper to buy at the grocery store than at a convenience store so I’m on a zero tolerance policy when it comes to “extra” spending.  I take coffee from home. I buy milk by the gallon and liters or half-gallons of juice and take it to work in recycled bottles. I make my own “iced” herb tea to have with lunch.

I have some to-go salad containers with good lids I saved from my fast-food days that work great for salads. I do the final salad assembly at my desk to keep them crisp and fresh. The same with sandwiches. I heat the soups in the microwave and take the garnishes in separate containers.

Mushroom Potato Soup

Mushroom Potato Soup

I have another blog, Larrupin, with details and recipes—some good for brown bags, some not so much—but this one will be more how-to. I’ll share the plans and lists and how I go about doing this every day. I’ll also show you the bowls, containers, bottles and bags I use to get it there every day. That part is still a work in progress.

So far I’ve been eating at my desk, which is not much of a break. But now that I’ve established the habit of taking my lunch and the weather is improving, I’ll take it to the park, just three blocks from my office, or eat at my desk and then take a walk.

What do you usually do for lunch? Where do you go to eat and how much do you spend? Do you eat healthy, or scarf down a fast lunch of burgers and fries? And if you’re a fan of brown bags let me know how you do it and what your favorites are. And while you’re at it, click the box to get email updates when I create a new post. I’m looking forward to hearing from you.

Jan

April 18, 2010 - Posted by | Brown Bag, Soup | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I am inspired! And the meals look awesome! I cut out sodas a week ago and have been trying to take lunch in more. Have you seen Julia Julie? I think you’d like it. Keep on writing. Looking forward the future updates.

    Comment by Laural | April 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. Thanks Laural! No I haven’t seen Julie Julia yet. It’s on my list. I think my biggest change is no pop, and no French fries. I did make that key lime pie for my birthday, and you can see I garnish with bacon, but it’s not like having fries and a Coke three days a week. I’ll keep you posted. 🙂
    Jan

    Comment by Jan | April 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

